Offical 3.95 to custom

<<

theclassicalgod

Young Brewer

Thanks given: 0

Thanks received: 0

Post Sat Jun 07, 2008 12:46 am

Offical 3.95 to custom

I have a PSP-2001 with the official 3.95 fw. I saw a few things that piqued my interest that required custom firmware. I'm not a total newb with PCs, but when it comes to flashing firmware, I've been a little wary.

I've got what the psp came with(usb cable, battery, 1gb memory stick) and a 4gb memory still i purchased after. Would I be able to get any of the custom firmware on my PSP without having to buy anything more? I saw something about a pandora battery(and that it could be reversed, hopefully letting me get away with only having one battery). I'm trying to do whatever research I can and find as specific instruction as I can before trying anything, so I don't brick my PSP. heh

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
<<

ace

Brewology Administrator
Brewology Administrator

Thanks given: 10 times

Thanks received: 29 times

Post Sat Jun 07, 2008 5:36 am

Unfortunately if your going to make a pandora's battery without another psp that has custom firmware on it, you are going to have to hard mod the battery. Take a look at these two tutorials:

http://pspbrew.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=11076
http://www.pspbrew.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=10797

They are on creating the battery and making one with a switch. If you are going to make one with a switch then you will need some way to control the switch, possibly buying a pinheader like in the tutorial. The short answer is no, you cannot make a pandora's battery without buying a single thing.
It's not the religion that causes wars, it's the men who use religion as a means to control people that do.
They call me tater salad.
<<

theclassicalgod

Young Brewer

Post Sat Jun 07, 2008 6:41 am

I love the way that works. lol You need CFW to make a pandora's battery, and you need a pandora's battery to install the CFW.